☰ Menu hexagon

Types of Feeding Problems

View information and download resources

hexagon hexagon hexagon hexagon hexagon hexagon

The SOS Approach to Feeding is committed to helping professionals, parents, and caregivers understand the types of diagnoses for feeding/eating issues in children and adolescents.  View the resources and information below to help you best support individuals through appropriate differential diagnosis including:


Pediatric Feeding Disorder is now officially a stand-alone diagnostic code (R code) in the U.S. International Classification of Diseases (ICD)

As of October 2021, Pediatric Feeding Disorder (PFD) has been officially approved by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to be a stand-alone diagnostic code (R code) in the U.S. International Classification of Diseases (ICD).

PFD is now a recognized condition rather than a symptom that is seen as transient. The ICD-10 code will allow physicians to diagnose the condition, thus warranting specialized services to treat the condition.  Read the full announcement –Pediatric Feeding Disorder is Now an Officially Recognized Diagnostic Code

View Resources designed to help you accurately diagnose Feeding Problems

Picky Eater vs Pediatric Feeding Disorder vs Avoidant Restrictive Food Intake Disorder

Use this decision tree to help identify the differences between these diagnoses and accurately determine which diagnosis may be most appropriate

View and Download the Decision Tree

Why We Don’t Use the ARFID Diagnosis

Read how the ARFID diagnosis can unnecessarily contribute to stress around feeding and eating.

Read and Download the Article

Don't Miss Out!

Get updates on upcoming events, newsletters and other SOS Resources directly to your inbox.

Sign Me Up
Don't Miss Out!

Copyright SOS Approach to Feeding © 2022 | Web Design by Webolutions